Meet the 2023 Next Wave Initiative Winners | Playbill

Industry News Meet the 2023 Next Wave Initiative Winners

The program, founded by The Directors Company in 2020, provides financial scholarships to emerging Black theatre artists.

Jaylon Muchison, Tia Smith, Kamren Henderson, Madison Gilmore, and Nia Akilah Robinson

The Directors Company has announced the winners of Cycle 3 of Next Wave Initiative, a developmental branch of the organization focused on amplifying emerging Black artists in theatre. Each of the winners will receive between $1000 and $1,959 in financial scholarships to support their undergraduate or graduate education.

The 2023 winners include Jaylon Muchison, who received the Hattie McDaniel award, Tia Smith who received the Black Excellence award, Madison Gilmore who received the Spike Lee Award, and both Kamren Henderson and Nia Akilah Robinson, who tied for the Lorraine Hansberry award. 

Founded in summer 2020 by Broadway multi-hyphenate Douglas Lyons (Parade, Chicken and Biscuits), the initiative's scholarships are open to Black applicants pursuing an undergraduate or graduate degree in writing, directing, acting, or dancing, with all genders and ages welcome.

Visit here to donate or learn more about The Next Wave Initiative.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!