Photos: Go Inside 18th Annual Fred Ebb Awards Honoring Julia Riew | Playbill

Photos Photos: Go Inside 18th Annual Fred Ebb Awards Honoring Julia Riew

Tony winner Beth Leavel presented the award at a ceremony at the American Airlines Theatre.

2022 Fred Ebb Award winner Julia Riew Marcus Middleton

The 18th annual Fred Ebb Award for aspiring musical theatre songwriters—named in honor of late, Tony-winning lyricist Ebb (Chicago, Cabaret)—was presented to Julia Riew by Tony winner Beth Leavel (The Drowsy Chaperone) November 28 in a ceremony at the American Airlines Theatre.

The Fred Ebb Foundation, in association with the Roundabout Theatre Company, presents the annual honor, which recognizes excellence in musical theatre songwriting for those who have not yet achieved significant commercial success. The prize includes a $60,000 award plus a one-night showcase of the winner's work produced by the Foundation.

Also taking part in the evening were Danny Burstein, Emily Skinner, Debra Monk, Jason Danieley, Howard McGillin, Tom Viola, Marc Bruni, Nick Westrate, Matthew Scott, David Loud, Julia Murney, Natalie Choo, Claire Kwon, Carl Andress, and more.

Riew, a composer-lyricist and writer from St. Louis and New York City, is primarily known for her musical Shimcheong: A Folktale (a.k.a., "The Korean 'Disney' Princess Musical"). Her recent works include Alice's Wonderland (co-written with J. Quinton Johnson), Jack and the Beanstalk: A Musical Adventure, and Thumbelina: A Little Musical.

Check out photos from the evening below:

See Beth Leavel Present Julia Riew With the 2022 Fred Ebb Award

Past winners include John Bucchino (2005), Steve Lutvak and Robert L. Freedman (2006), Peter Mills (2007), Adam Gwon (2008), Marcy Heisler and Zina Goldrich (2009), Douglas J. Cohen (2010), Jeff Blumenkrantz (2011), Sam Willmott (2012), Michael Kooman and Christopher Dimond (2013), Chris Miller and Nathan Tysen (2014), Stacey Luftig and Phillip Palmer (2015), Thomas Mizer and Curtis Moore (2016), Shaina Taub (2017), Will Reynolds and Eric Price (2018), Angela Sclafani and Benjamin Velez (2019), Ben Bonnema and Christopher Staskel and Michael R. Jackson (2020), and Isabella Dawis and Tidtaya Sinutoke (2021).

The selection panel includes Foundation Trustee Mitchell S. Bernard, music director David Loud, and actors Matthew Scott and Emily Skinner.

Each year, the Foundation also makes a donation to Broadway Cares.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!