Check Out the Playbill Cover for 5th Anniversary of Broadway's Hadestown | Playbill

Broadway News Check Out the Playbill Cover for 5th Anniversary of Broadway's Hadestown

Throughout the month of April, audiences at the Walter Kerr will receive a commemorative, limited edition Playbill, also available in the Playbill Store.

Jon Jon Briones and company of Hadestown Evan Zimmerman

The Tony-winning Broadway musical Hadestown, which began previews March 22, 2019, is about to mark another milestone.

The hit musical will turn five April 17 at the Walter Kerr Theatre. To celebrate the occasion, audiences at the Walter Kerr will receive a special Playbill throughout the month of April. Check out the cover for the fifth anniversary Hadestown Playbill below. Purchase your own copy of the special Playbill by clicking here.


Hadestown currently stars Grammy winner Ani DiFranco as Persephone, Jon Jon Briones as Hermes, Phillip Boykin as Hades, and Isa Briones as Eurydice. Jordan Fisher, usually starring as Orpheus, is currently taking a leave of absence from the hit musical through April 24.

They are joined by Belén Moyano, Kay Trinidad, and Brit West as the Fates. The chorus of Workers is played by Emily Afton, Malcolm Armwood, Chibueze Ihumoa, Alex Puette, and Grace Yoo. The cast also includes swings Sojourner Brown, Brandon Cameron, Tara Jackson, Max Kumangai, Alex Lugo, and Tanner Ray Wilson.

Singer-songwriter Anaïs Mitchell’s folk- and jazz-infused musical layers the myth of Orpheus and Eurydice with that of Hades and Persephone, intertwining the actions—and consequences—of gods and mortals. Hadestown originally began as a theatrical concert performed by Mitchell.

Purchase additional Hadestown memorabilia in the Playbill Store.

The creative team features Tony-winning set designer Rachel Hauck, Tony-nominated costume designer Michael Krass, Tony-winning lighting designer Bradley King, Tony-winning sound designers Nevin Steinberg and Jessica Paz, choreographer David Neumann, and dramaturg Ken Cerniglia. Musical supervision and vocal arrangements are by Liam Robinson, with arrangements and orchestrations by Tony winners Michael Chorney and Todd Sickafoose.

The show, featuring a book and score by Mitchell, won eight 2019 Tony Awards: Best Director of a Musical (Rachel Chavkin), Best Featured Actor in a Musical (André De Shields), Best Lighting Design of a Musical (Bradley King), Best Scenic Design of a Musical (Rachel Hauck), Best Sound Design of a Musical (Jessica Paz and Nevin Steinberg), Best Orchestrations (Michael Chorney and Todd Sickafoose), Best Original Score (Mitchell), and Best Musical.

Photos: Jon Jon Briones and Isa Briones in Hadestown

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!