Desi Oakley, Kennedy Kanagawa, Cleavant Derricks, More Will Star in Ogunquit Playhouse Waitress | Playbill

Regional News Desi Oakley, Kennedy Kanagawa, Cleavant Derricks, More Will Star in Ogunquit Playhouse Waitress

Abby O'Brien will direct the Sara Bareilles musical at the Maine venue.

Desi Oakley, Kennedy Kanagawa, and Cleavant Derricks

Casting is complete for the Ogunquit Playhouse's upcoming production of the Tony-nominated musical Waitress, which will launch the Maine venue's 2024 season. Directed by Abbey O’Brien, performances are scheduled for May 9–June 8.

Desi Oakley, who played pie-maker Jenna in the West End production of Waitress and the musical's first national tour, will again play the role created on Broadway by Tony winner Jessie Mueller.

Oakley will be joined at the Ogunquit by Jimmy Ray Bennett (Ogunquit’s Hello, Dolly!) as Cal, Matt DeAngelis (Waitress) as Earl, Ben Jacoby (Beautiful) as Dr. Pomatter, Gizel Jiménez (Wicked) as Dawn, Kennedy Kanagawa (Into the Woods) as Ogie, Maiesha McQueen (Waitress) as Becky, and Cleavant Derricks (Dreamgirls) as Joe.

The company will also include Matthew Curiano, Daniela Durbin, Sam Hartley, Renee Jackson, Andrew Burton Kelley, Gabriella Marzetta, Thabitha Moruthane, Julia Rippon, Jake Urban, Chelsea Williams, and Evelyn Woodman.

Based on the 2007 film by Adrienne Shelly, Waitress was the first Broadway musical in history to have women in the four top creative team spots, with a book by Jessie Nelson, a score by Grammy winner Sara Bareilles, choreography by Lorin Latarro, and direction by Tony winner Diane Paulus.

The original Broadway production opened at the Brooks Atkinson Theatre April 24, 2016. The production played 33 previews and 1,544 regular performances before closing January 5, 2020, earning four Tony nominations, including Best Original Score and Best Musical. Waitress ended its return Broadway engagement in December 2021.

The upcoming production will also have choreography by Cost n’ Mayor, orchestrations by Bareilles and The Waitress Band, music arrangements by Sony Music Publishing, music supervision by Ryan Cantwell, music direction by Leigh Delano, original scenic design by Scott Pask, lighting design by Richard Latta, original costume design by Suttirat Anne Larlarb, sound design by Kevin Heard, wig design by Roxanne De Luna, and casting by ARC's Mark Brandon. Haley Bennet serves as music contractor. Daniel Everett is the production stage manager.

Click here for ticket information.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!