Kate Hamill to Be Honored at Primary Stages' 39th Anniversary Gala | Playbill

Benefits and Galas Kate Hamill to Be Honored at Primary Stages' 39th Anniversary Gala

The evening will feature performances by Judy Gold, Andy Karl, Orfeh, Javier Muñoz, and more.

Kate Hamill

The Primary Stages 39th Anniversary Gala will honor actor and playwright Kate Hamill (Pride and Prejudice, Dracula, Little Women) with the 2023 Einhorn Mentorship Award. 

Held November 14, the gala will be presented at Sony Hall at 6 PM, with cocktails, dinner, musical performances, and a comedy set included in the evening's festivities.

The Einhorn Mentorship Award celebrates a member of the Primary Stages community who has inspired and supported their collaborators in a true mentor's fashion. Past recipients include Carl Andress, Charles Busch, Jeanine Tesori, Kimberly Senior, Judy Gold, Adam Gwon, and Sharon Washington.

The gala will be directed by Michelle Bossy (The Oxy Complex) and feature a comedy set with Judy Gold and performances by Andy Karl (Groundhog Day, Pretty Woman the Musical), Orfeh (Pretty Woman the Musical, Legally Blonde the Musical), Jennifer Mudge (The Stendhal Syndrome, Fiasco’s Into the Woods), Javier Muñoz (Hamilton, In the Heights), and more.

“We are so lucky to count Kate not only as an artistic collaborator, but as a board member and longtime friend of Primary Stages,” said Interim Artistic Director Erin Daley. “Her singular voice has delighted and inspired thousands across the country, making her one of the most produced living American playwrights. Beyond her prolific artistic contributions, she is able to create a supportive sense of community in every production she is involved in that allows her fellow artists to grow and thrive.”

Also honored will be theatre agent Beth Blickers, who will receive the inaugural Andrew Leynse Commitment to New Plays Award. Created in memory of late Primary Stages Artistic Director Leynse, the award celebrates a dedicated champion of new plays and new playwrights within the community. Throughout her career, Blickers has represented Hamill, Dan O’Brien, Judy Gold, Leah Nanako Winkler, and Daisy Foote.

This year's gala benefit committee includes Sue Breger, Jamie deRoy, Eleanor Holtzman, Carol Roaman, and Mary Susnjara.

Visit PrimaryAshtages.org/gala.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!