Samantha Womack, Michael Praed, Nicole-Lily Baisden, More Will Star in U.K. 42nd Street Tour | Playbill

Related Articles
International News Samantha Womack, Michael Praed, Nicole-Lily Baisden, More Will Star in U.K. 42nd Street Tour

Jonathan Church will direct the Tony-winning musical with choreography by Bill Deamer.

Samantha Womack, Michael Praed, and Nicole-Lily Baisden

Casting is now complete for the upcoming U.K. tour of the Tony-winning musical 42nd Street, directed by Jonathan Church (Singin’ in the Rain, The Drifters Girl).

As previously reported, the tour will officially launch July 13 at Canterbury's Marlowe Theatre following engagements at the Leicester Curve Theatre (May 17-June 3) and Sadler’s Wells (June 7-July 2). The Curve and Sadler's Wells performances will feature Olivier winner Ruthie Henshall as Dorothy Brock, Olivier nominee Adam Garcia as Julian Marsh, Les Dennis as Bert Barry, and Nicole-Lily Baisden as Peggy Sawyer. 

The subsequent tour, which will continue through July 22 at the Marlowe, will be led by Samantha Womack as Dorothy Brock, Michael Praed as Julian Marsh, Faye Tozer as Maggie Jones, Les Dennis as Bert Barry, and Nicole-Lily Baisden as Peggy Sawyer.

The cast will be completed by Sam Lips as Billy Lawlor, with Erica-Jayne Alden, George Beet, Charlie Bishop, Kevin Brewis, Olly Christopher, Briana Craig, Jordan Crouch, Rhianna Dorris, Ashleigh Graham, Alyn Hawke, Aimee Hodnett, Connor Hughes, Deja Linton, Sarah-Marie Maxwell, Greta McKinnon, Ben Middleton, Benjamin Mundy, Anthony Ofoegbu, and Jessica Wright.

Following its run at the Marlowe Theatre, the production will visit Leeds, Bristol, Plymouth, Cardiff, Glasgow, Milton Keynes, Liverpool, Manchester, Southampton, Newcastle, Woking, and Belfast with further cities to be announced. 

Borrowing songs from old Warner Bros. movies, Michael Stewart and Mark Bramble wrote the book (based on the novel by Bradford Ropes and the film of the same name) for 42nd Street, Harry Warren wrote the music, and Al Dubin wrote the lyrics. The original Broadway production, produced by David Merrick, opened in August 1980, playing nearly 3,500 performances before closing January 8, 1989. The musical was nominated for eight 1981 Tony Awards, winning two, Best Musical and Best Choreography for Gower Champion.

This new production also have choreography by Olivier winner Bill Deamer, designs by Olivier winner Rob Jones, lighting design by Ben Cracknell, sound design by Ian Dickinson and Gareth Tucker, video design by Jon Driscoll, musical supervision by Jennifer Whyte, and orchestrations by Larry Blank.

David Ian for Crossroads Live and Jonathan Church Theatre Productions produce.


Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!