See Derek Klena and the Cast of Moulin Rouge! Celebrate 3 Years on Broadway | Playbill

Video See Derek Klena and the Cast of Moulin Rouge! Celebrate 3 Years on Broadway

The Tony-winning musical will open productions in Germany and South Korea later this year.

Moulin Rouge! The Musical celebrates three years on the Al Hirschfeld Theatre’s stage July 25. The production opened in 2019 after beginning previews June 28. Since then, it has launched a U.S. national tour in addition to productions in London’s West End and Australia. See the company celebrate the production’s third anniversary on the Main Stem above.

The musical won 10 Tony Awards in 2021, two days after it resumed performances following the shutdown. “Throughout the shutdown we were faced with the difficult decision of whether to continue the international roll-out of the show,” said producer Carmen Pavlovic in a statement. “The answer was in front of our eyes. Moulin Rouge! The Musical is a story about the resilience of artists, and the necessity of art. Proceeding was the only choice.”

Adapted for the stage from Baz Luhrmann's film , Alex Timbers directs the musical which won Tony Awards for Best Musical, Best Director for Timbers, Best Book of a Musical for John Logan, Best Choreography for Sonya Tayeh, and Best Orchestrations for Justin Levine, who incorporated the pop hits featured in the original movie as well as further hit songs released since the film's debut into the score.

The Broadway production currently stars Ashley Loren as Satine, Derek Klena as Christian, Eric Anderson as Harold Zidler, Sahr Ngaujah as Toulouse-Lautrec, Declan Bennett as The Duke of Monroth, Caleb Marshall-Villarreal as Santiago, and Jessica Lee Goldyn as Nini.

Rounding out the cast is Jacqueline B. Arnold, Tasia Jungbauer, Jeigh Madjus, Keely Beirne, Cameron Burke, Giovanni Bonaventura, Maya Bowles, Raúl Contreras, Kevin Curtis, Bobby Daye, Mia DeWeese, Tilly Evans-Krueger, Taurean Everett, Aaron C. Finley, Lauren E.J. Hamilton, Stephen Hernandez, Bahiyah Hibah, Adam J. Levy, Kara Menendez, Kaitlin Mesh, Cameron Mitchell Jackson, Fred Odgaard, Kelsey Orem, Dylan Paul, Clay Rice-Thomson, Benjamin Rivera, Arianna Rosario, Julius Anthony Rubio, and Brandon Stonestreet.

The design team includes scenic designer Derek McLane, costume designer Catherine Zuber, lighting designer Li Justin Townsend, sound designer Peter Hylenski, wig and hair designer David Brian Brown, make-up designer Sarah Cimino, and music producer Matt Stine. Casting is by Jim Carnahan and Stephen Kopel.

Moulin Rouge! will open in Cologne, Germany and Seoul, South Korea later this year, in addition to opening in Tokyo, Japan in early 2023.

See Derek Klena and Ashley Loren in New Production Photos of Moulin Rouge! The Musical

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!