Tony Honoree Corey Mitchell Named Among Global Teacher Prize Finalists | Playbill

News Tony Honoree Corey Mitchell Named Among Global Teacher Prize Finalists He was one of only five Americans nominated for the prize.
Corey Mitchell

Corey Mitchell, who was the inaugural winner of the Tony Award for Excellence in Theatre Education in 2015, was named one of the finalists for the $1 million Global Teacher Prize for an “exceptional teacher,” given by the London-based Varkey Foundation December 13.

Mitchell, a theatre arts teacher at Northwest School of the Arts in Charlotte, NC, was one of 50 finalists from schools around the world chosen by the Varkey Foundation, and one of only five finalists from the United States. Hanan Al Hroub, a Palestinian, was named winner.

Mitchell wrote on his Facebook page, “Last night, I received several congratulatory salutations and even more likes for the announcement about the @TeacherPrize Top 50. I just want to clarify that this is this honor is because of the talent, hard work, and lessons that I've learned from teachers, administrators, parent volunteers and the thousands of incredible students I have had the honor to work with at Northwest School of the the amazing artists from the Charlotte region and across North Carolina, and the theatre teachers whose ideas I have incorporated into my own lessons from the International Thespian Society. I share this honor with my colleagues at Northwest, my students (past and present), my family, as well as my comrades at Theatre Charlotte, CPCC, NCTC, Davidson Community Players, the Educational Theatre Association, the Broadway League, and the American Theatre Wing.”

The Varkey Foundation is a not-for-profit organization established to “improve the standards of education for underprivileged children throughout the world.”

The award is given to “currently working teachers who teach children that are in compulsory schooling, or are between the ages of 5 and 18. Teachers who continue to teach, even on a part-time basis are also eligible, as are teachers of online courses. The prize is open to teachers in every kind of school and, subject to local laws, in every country in the world.”

The winner is chosen by a Global Teacher Prize Academy made up of head-teachers, educational experts, commentators, journalists, public officials, tech entrepreneurs, company directors, and scientists from around the world. Here are the members of the 2017 academy.



Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!