Winners Announced for the 1st Dorian Theatre Awards; Kimberly Akimbo Tops the List | Playbill

Awards Winners Announced for the 1st Dorian Theatre Awards; Kimberly Akimbo Tops the List

The inaugural awards give LGBTQ critics the change to annually honor Broadway and Off-Broadway artistry.

Alli Mauzey, Victoria Clark, and Steven Boyer in Kimberly Akimbo Joan Marcus

Winners and finalists have been announced for the first-ever annual Dorian Theatre Awards, led by a voting board of the 35 members of GALECA: The Society of LGBTQ Entertainment Critics' theatre wing. Like GALECA’s Dorian film and TV awards, the new theatre awards will honor both mainstream productions and productions featuring LGBTQ+ artistry.

Kimberly Akimbo received the most nods, including Outstanding Broadway Musical; and Fat Ham received both the Outstanding Broadway Play award and the Outstanding LGBTQ Broadway Production award. Some Like It Hot's J. Harrison Ghee was honored with the LGBTQ Theatre Trailblazer Award, which is bestowed annually to a figure in the theatre industry who "inspires empathy, truth, and equity."

View the full list of winners and finalists below.
(Note: the presence of three finalists rather than two indicates a tie in the vote.)

Outstanding Broadway Musical
WINNER: Kimberly Akimbo

Finalists: Shucked, Some Like it Hot

Outstanding Broadway Play


Finalists: Cost of Living, Leopoldstadt

Outstanding Broadway Musical Revival

WINNER: Into the Woods

Finalists: Parade, Sweeney Todd

Outstanding Broadway Play Revival

WINNER: A Doll’s House

Finalists: Ohio State Murders, The Sign in Sidney Brustein’s Window, Topdog/Underdog

Outstanding Lead Performance in a Broadway Musical

WINNER: Victoria Clark, Kimberly Akimbo

Finalists: Annaleigh Ashford, Sweeney Todd; J. Harrison Ghee, Some Like it Hot

Outstanding Featured Performance in a Broadway Musical

WINNER: Bonnie Milligan, Kimberly Akimbo

Finalists: Justin Cooley, Kimberly Akimbo; Alex Newell, Shucked

Outstanding Lead Performance in a Broadway Play

WINNER: Jodie Comer, Prima Facie

Finalists: Jessica Chastain, A Doll’s House; Sean Hayes, Good Night, Oscar; Stephen McKinley Henderson, Between Riverside and Crazy

Outstanding Featured Performance in a Broadway Play

WINNER: Crystal Lucas-Perry, Ain't No Mo'

Finalists: Jordan E. Cooper, Ain’t No Mo; Miriam Silverman, The Sign in Sidney Brustein’s Window

Outstanding Broadway Ensemble

WINNER: Kimberly Akimbo

Finalists: Into the Woods, Shucked

The Broadway Showstopper Award (to a standout production number or scene)
WINNER: “Independently Owned” from Shucked
Finalists: “Better” from Kimberly Akimbo, “You Coulda Knocked Me Over with a Feather” from Some Like it Hot

Outstanding LGBTQ Broadway Production


Finalists: & Juliet, Some Like it Hot

Outstanding Off-Broadway Production

WINNER: Titaníque

Finalists: Dark Disabled Stories, Downstate

Outstanding Off-Broadway Performance

WINNER: Marla Mindelle, Titaníque

Finalists: K. Todd Freeman, Downstate; Ryan J. Haddad, Dark Disabled Stories; Parker Posey, The Seagull/Woodstock, NY

LGBTQ Theater Trailblazer Award (to a figure who inspires empathy, truth, and equity)
WINNER: J. Harrison Ghee
Finalists: Jordan E. Cooper, Ryan J. Haddad

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!