15 Jimmy Award Alums Who Are Now Theatre Favorites | Playbill

Education News 15 Jimmy Award Alums Who Are Now Theatre Favorites

The 15th Annual Jimmy Awards will be hosted by Josh Groban June 24.

Eva Noblezada, Casey Likes, Andrew Barth Feldman, Jasmine Amy Rogers, and Reneé Rapp

It's the most magical time of the year! No, we don't mean the recent Tony Awards (though we're obsessed with those, too). We mean the Jimmy Awards, the annual showcase of some of the  most talented young performers in America. For one night, high schoolers from all across America gather to sing, act, and dance in front of a panel of professional judges. And that night, a number of them will be named finalists, and two will win the titles of Best Performance by an Actor and Best Performance by an Actress. 

The 15th annual Jimmy Awards ceremony will take place at Broadway's Minskoff Theatre June 24. Josh Groban will host. The ceremony will stream for free beginning at 7:30 PM via the Jimmy Awards official Facebook and YouTube channels. The stream will also be available on Playbill.

The Jimmy Awards isn't just a showcase. It's also been a valuable stepping stone for many of today's most exciting young performers. From Andrew Barth Feldman to Reneé Rapp, below we spotlight 15 Jimmy Awards former winners and finalists who have gone on to achieve their musical theatre dreams. Playbill is only calling out 15, but every Jimmy alum currently working in the entertainment industry can be found here.

15 Jimmy Award Finalists Who Are Now Theatre Favorites

Kyle Selig

2010 winner Kyle Selig made his Broadway debut in The Book of Mormon in 2016. Selig most recently appeared on Broadway as Aaron Samuels in Mean Girls.

Stephanie Styles

Currently on Apple TV's Loot, 2010 finalist Stephanie Styles made her Broadway debut as Lois Lane in the 2019 revival of Kiss Me, Kate.

Ryan McCartan

2011 winner Ryan McCartan originated the role of Jason "J.D." Dean in Heathers Off-Broadway. Following a recurring role on Disney's Liv and Maddie, McCartan made his Broadway debut in 2018 as Fiyero in Wicked. 

Eva Noblezada

2013 Jimmy Awards finalist Eva Noblezada made her Broadway debut in 2017 in Miss Saigon. She's since become a two-time Tony nominee and is currently starring on Broadway in The Great Gatsby.

Jai'Len Christine Li Josey

2014 Jimmy Award winner Jai'Len Christine Li Josey made her Broadway debut in 2017 in SpongeBob SquarePants. She recently released her debut EP called Southern Delicacy.

Josh Strobl

2016 Jimmy Award winner Josh Strobl made his Broadway debut in Dear Evan Hansen. He is currently a cast member in The Outsiders on Broadway.

Morgan Higgins

2015 Jimmy winner Morgan Higgins made her Broadway debut in 2022 in Bad Cinderella.

Antonio Cipriano

2017 Jimmy finalist Antonio Cipriano made his Broadway debut in 2019 in Jagged Little Pill. He's since had numerous TV credits, including The Sex Lives of College Girls and Pretty Little Liars: Summer School.

Sam Primack

2017 Jimmy finalist Sam Primack made his Broadway debut in Dear Evan Hansen. He also starred in that show's national tour, as well as the national tour of The Addams Family

Jasmine Amy Rogers

2017 Jimmy finalist Jasmine Amy Rogers starred in the Mean Girls national tour. She also played Betty Boop in the pre-Broadway tryout for BOOP! The Betty Boop Musical in Chicago.

Andrew Barth Feldman

2018 Jimmy winner made his Broadway debut in 2019 in Dear Evan Hansen. He's also starred in the films A Tourist's Guide to Love and No Hard Feelings.

Reneé Rapp

Most recently seen on screen as Regina George in the movie musical adaptation of Mean Girls, 2018 winner Reneé Rapp also starred in Mean Girls on Broadway. She released her debut album Snow Angel in 2023.

Casey Likes

Currently starring as Marty McFly in Back to the Future, 2019 finalist Casey Likes made his Broadway debut in 2022 as William Miller in Almost Famous.

Justin Cooley

2021 finalist Justin Cooley made his Broadway debut in Kimberly Akimbo. Cooley became a Tony nominee in 2023 for Best Featured Actor in a Musical for that show.

Anna Zavelson

2022 finalist Anna Zavelson most recently appeared on stage alongside Tony winner Ruthie Ann Miles as Clara in the New York City Center Encores! staging of The Light in the Piazza.

Presented by the Broadway League Foundation and named in honor of the late producer and theatre owner James M. Nederlander, the Jimmy Awards see nominees partaking in a week of events, workshops, and master classes with industry professionals. The week culminates in the ceremony itself, a performance held on a Broadway stage at which the nominees compete for the top titles.

This year's ceremony is being directed by Van Kaplan and will feature music supervision by Geoffrey Ko, choreography by Kiesha Lalama, and group direction and choreography by Luis Salgado.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!