Dear Evan Hansen's Christiane Noll and Aaron Lazar Reunite for TheaterWorks Hartford's Fun Home, Opening October 14 | Playbill

Regional News Dear Evan Hansen's Christiane Noll and Aaron Lazar Reunite for TheaterWorks Hartford's Fun Home, Opening October 14

Rob Ruggiero directs the Tony-winning musical at the Connecticut venue.

Christine Noll, Ali Louis Bourzgui (on couch), and Aaron Lazar in Fun Home Mike Marques

TheaterWorks Hartford launches its 2022-23 season with the Tony-winning musical Fun Homewhich officially opens October 14 following previews that began October 8 in Hartford, Connecticut. Performances continue through October 30.

Producing Artistic Director Rob Ruggiero helms the limited engagement with musical direction by Jeff Cox.

Aaron Lazar and Christiane Noll, who played the Murphys in the national touring company of Dear Evan Hansen, again star as husband and wife playing, respectively, Bruce and Helen. The cast also features Sarah Beth Pfeifer (The Lightning Thief) as Alison, Ali Louis Bourzgui as Roy/Mark/Pete/Bobby Jeremy, Sam Duncan as John/Jasper, Myles Low as Christian, Skylar Lynn Matthews as Small Alison, Julia Nightingale as Medium Alison, and Cameron Silliman as Joan.

Featuring music by Tony winner Jeanine Tesori, a book and lyrics by Tony winner Lisa Kron, and based on the graphic novel by Alison Bechdel, Fun Home introduces audiences to Alison at three different ages, revealing memories of her uniquely dysfunctional family.

The musicians include Morgan Brown on guitar, Celeste Cumming on cello, Kevin Huhn on bass, Harry Kliewe on reeds, Selah Kwak on violin, and Elliot Wallace on drums/percussion.

Ruggiero said in an earlier statement, “I couldn’t be more excited to finally share this incredibly unique story with TheaterWorks audiences. The universal theme of child to parent forgiveness will touch many people, and the familiar story of coming out in a generation less tolerant will continue to create important conversations about acceptance, self-love, and inclusion.”

The creative team also includes music director Jeff Cox, set designer Luke Hegel-Cantarella, costume designer Herin Kaputkin, lighting designer Rob Denton, sound designer Joanna Lynne Staub, projection designer Camilla Tassi, hair designer E. John McGarvey, and casting director Paul Hardt with additional musical staging by Ralph Perkins. Mike Lenaghan is the director of production, and Nicole Wiegert and Theresa Stark are the production stage managers.


Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!