Photos: Lynn Nottage Receives the Monte Cristo Award | Playbill

Photo Features Photos: Lynn Nottage Receives the Monte Cristo Award

Eugene O'Neill Theater Center honored the two-time Pulitzer-winning playwright at its 22nd annual gala November 6.

Lynn Nottage Ilya S. Savenok

The Eugene O'Neill Theater Center presented its 22nd annual Monte Cristo Award to playwright and screenwriter Lynn Nottage at a gala celebration November 6 at Capitale in New York City. See photos from the event below.

Nottage was in residence at the O'Neill in 2006 while writing her Pulitzer Prize-winning play Ruined. She received a second Pulitzer for her 2015 play Sweat, making her the first and only woman to receive the honor twice.

The Monte Cristo Award is bestowed each year on a prominent artist whose work has had an extraordinary impact on American theatre. The celebratory gala supports the O'Neill's mission to develop new work and help prepare new artists for the stage.

Photos: The 22nd Annual Monte Cristo Awards Honor Lynn Nottage

The 2023 gala was directed by Seret Scott, and featured performances by Quincy Tyler Bernstein, Tonya Pinkins, Jason Bowen, Gabby Beans, Stacey Sargeant, CJ Wilson, and Joyce Sylvester, among others.

The evening’s gala committee included Michael Douglas and Catherine Zeta-Jones, Stephen and Ruth Hendel, David Henry Hwang, Genia Kaplan Quinn and Dr. Bruce Quinn, Dominique Morisseau, Connecticut Senator Chris Murphy, The Nederlander Organization, Tom Viertel & Pat Daily, and Constanza Romero Wilson.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!