Studio Cast Recording of New Song Cycle Well-Behaved Women Released December 8 | Playbill

Cast Recordings & Albums Studio Cast Recording of New Song Cycle Well-Behaved Women Released December 8

See Merrily We Roll Along star Lindsay Mendez sing "Yo Simplemente Soy" as artist Frida Kahlo.

Concord Theatricals Recordings releases a studio cast album of the new song cycle Well-Behaved Women December 8 on streaming and digital platforms worldwide. Watch Lindsay Mendez (Merrily We Roll Along) sing "Yo Simplemente Soy" from the new release above.

Written by Carmel Dean, the work celebrates women in history who fought to be heard, including Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Harriet Tubman, Frida Kahlo, and Malala Yousafzai. The recording features an all-star cast, including Sasha Allen, Laura Benanti, Andréa Burns, Liz Callaway, Jenn Colella, Hannah Corneau, Melissa Rose Hirsch, Dee Hoty, Judy Kaye, LaChanze, Mendez, Bonnie Milligan, Lauren Patten, and Pearl Sun.

"I wrote Well-Behaved Women in order to honor and celebrate the bold, brave, and badass women who have come before us—many of whom have not had their stories told, especially through song,” says Dean in a statement. "To have this extraordinary cast of Tony Award winners and Broadway A-listers bring these stories to life is a true embarrassment of riches. Their performances will not only blow listeners away but will also hopefully inspire and empower today’s (and future) generations to be bold, brave, and badass themselves. ‘Well-behaved women seldom make history.’ – Laurel Thatcher Ulrich."

The work got a New York premiere at Joe's Pub in 2020, and premiered at Sydney, Australia's Hayes Theatre and London's Cadogan Hall in 2021.

Well-Behaved Women made its New York premiere at Joe's Pub January 25, 2020, in an all-star one-night concert. In 2021, the show premiered at the Hayes Theatre in Sydney, Australia, and at Cadogan Hall in London.

The album features orchestrations by Lynne Shankel and additional lyrics by Miriam Laube. Dean and Sean Patrick Flahaven produce with Ali Tesluk serving as associate producer. The album was recorded by John Kilgore, Ian Kagey, Neal Shaw, David Amien, and Josh Walton; edited and mixed by Michael Croiter; and mastered by Oscar Zambrano. Art direction and design are by Derek Bishop.

Well-Behaved Women can be licensed from Concord Theatricals. Visit for more information.

Take a look at the track list for Well-Behaved Women:

  1. "In the Beginning (Eve)" – Laura Benanti
  2. "The Warrior Queen (Boudicca)" – Katie Thompson
  3. "On the Railroad (Harriet Tubman)" –LaChanze
  4. "If Shakespeare Had a Sister (Virginia Woolf)" – Bonnie Milligan
  5. "Stay and Fight (Cleopatra)" – Sasha Allen
  6. "Ladies of the Press (Eleanor Roosevelt)" – Jenn Colella
  7. "The Only Girl at the Table (Mary Magdalene)" – Hannah Elless
  8. "The Water is Where (Fanny Durack and Mina Wylie)" – Hannah Corneau, Melissa Rose Hirsch
  9. "Hey, Bobby Riggs (Billie Jean King)" – Lauren Patten
  10. "Yo Simplemente Soy (Frida Kahlo)" – Lindsay Mendez
  11. "A Mother's Love (Hua-Li)" – Pearl Sun
  12. "Papa, Are You There? (Malala Yousafzai)" – Kuhoo Verma
  13. "One Step Closer (Janet Armstrong)" – Liz Callaway
  14. "You Were There (Cathy Freeman)" – Ursula Yovich
  15. "Lady Liberty (The Statue of Liberty)" – Andréa Burns
  16. "Order in the Court (Sandra Day O’Connor, Ruth Bader Ginsburg, Sonia Sotomayor, and Elena Kagan)" – Dee Hoty, Judy Kaye, Alma Cuervo, Anne L. Nathan
  17. "We Rise (All)" – Ensemble
Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!